ALL PRODUCT PRICES IN CANADIAN DOLLARS, CURRENTLY GREAT VALUE FOR OUR USA CUSTOMERS
 

News & Reviews

News and Published Reviews About Pillowpacker® Pillows

Canadian Living Father’s Day Gift Ideas, June 2015

Pillowpacker® Pillows Joins Buy Canadian First, February 13, 2015

Pillowpacker® Pillows is pleased to be associated with Buy Canadian First, an organization focused on showcasing small Canadian businesses that still have pride of ownership. We make our products in Ottawa with components we have sourced from premier Canadian and American suppliers to the extent possible.

It's time we in North America take back some of our lost "heritage" as world class producers of world class products. At Pillowpacker® Pillows care first and foremost about Quality and Value that our products offer our discerning customers. Our "bottom line" is our Customer Satisfaction rating!

https://www.buycanadianfirst.ca/home

Ottawa Citizen, December 2014

Travelling in style: Ottawa couple designs comfortable pillow

By Karen Turner, Ottawa Citizen. Published on: December 18, 2014

At 68, Garry Logue admits his days of backpacking through Europe and sleeping with a balled-up sweater under his head are long gone.

As frequent flyers, comfort has always been a top priority for Logue and his wife Beth Shepherd.

During his 30-year career with Bell Canada, Logue travelled extensively and Shepherd boarded her fair share of planes as a management consultant. In between, the Ottawa couple booked dream vacations to Italy, France, England and the Caribbean. Yet no matter where they went, they always packed their comfy bedroom pillows.

“We hauled our pillows all over the world … We’re travellers who care about comfort, ” says Logue, adding that on every trip they took, one suitcase was designated for their pillows.

But during a two-week expedition to the Canadian Arctic in 2008, the couple was forced to leave their fluffy sleep aids at home because they could only bring what they could carry on their backs. As a result of their many sleepless nights, the weary travellers came up with the Pillowpacker® Pillow, an inflatable, contoured travel pillow with a duck down or hypoallergenic microfibre cover that is not only comfortable, but hygienic and compact. When deflated, the 48- by 36-centimetre pillow, cover and 100-per-cent cotton pillowcase roll into a nylon stuff sack for easy travel.

“That (trip) was the genesis for the pillow,” says Logue, who spent a year designing and testing prototypes before launching the Pillowpacker®. The fully-washable pillows are made in Ottawa and the duck down comes from Quebec’s Eastern Townships.

Global headquarters is the couple’s first-floor den in Britannia Village overlooking the snowy Ottawa River. Since 2010, they’ve sold more than 800 pillows to customers around the globe, who use them on everything from family camping trips to climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.

Lightweight and sanitary, the inner pillow can be inflated to whatever firmness you want with a couple quick puffs of air. To deflate, simply turn the valve and compress.

The down version is $99; the microfibre $89. “If price is the driver, you won’t buy our product and we’re OK with that,” says Logue, who defines the majority of their clientele as discerning travellers willing to pay a premium for quality comfort. “Those who say they can roll up their jeans and go to sleep, we say fill your boots,” he quips.

Shepherd adds: “Our market is someone who appreciates comfort and that is generally us older folks.”

To order one, visit www.pillowpackers.com or email Logue, aka Chief Pillow Officer, at garry@pillowpackers.com.

Article with video: http://ottawacitizen.com/business/local-business/travelling-in-style-ottawa-couple-designs-comfortable-pillow

Pillowpackers reviewed on Vancouver Radio CISL AM 650, December 2013

Vancouver radio station CISL AM 650 had its annual “60 Great Gifts in 60 Minutes” program. In 60 minutes they review and recommend 60 gifts just in time for Christmas, counting down from number 60! This year Pillowpacker® Pillows was selected and came in at number 20. The icon below connects to the entire broadcast...

Amazon Review of Pillowpacker® Pillow, by Ali Julia, February 24, 2013

I had a couple of back surgeries, so finding a comfortable position in bed is always a bit of a challenge especially when I travel. At home I use a pillow with more loft for my head, and a flatter pillow under my knees to keep my spine in a position that does not hurt. When I travel I often find hotel pillows uncomfortable. They are usually either too fat to feel comfortable under my knees or too flat to be comfortable under my head.

This is where Pillowpacker® Pillows come in. The unique feature of this travel pillow is its construction. It is shaped as a regular bedroom pillow (but somewhat smaller), but inside it has multiple layers: the out layer is either duck down or microfiber, and inside layer is an inflatable pillow. You can control the thickness of the pillow by how much you inflate the inflatable pillow. The softness of the duck down or microfiber makes you feel like you are sleeping on a regular pillow. By changing the inflation of the pillow I could make it fit both of my needs thicker under the head, and flatter under the knees.

I am attaching a collage of 4 photos.

Photo #1 shows a fully inflated pillow (blue) and minimally inflated pillow (red). The valve used to inflate the pillows is very easy to use. It is hard plastic screw valve. Blowing air into it is very easy, it takes only a few blows to inflate it (much easier than other inflatable pillows that have a silicone plug).

Photo #2 shows the Pillowpacker® Pillow next to my regular size pillow. My regular pillow is 24" x 19", the Pillowpacker pillow is 19" by 14".

Photo #3 shows the construction of the pillow: dark blue is the pillow case, light blue is the sleeve that contains goose feathers, white is the inflatable pillow between the two layers of goose filling.

Photo #4 shows the Pillowpacker® pillowcase. This is a European-type pillowcase which folds over rather than has one open end. I much prefer this style of pillowcases for their neat appearance. It is made out of 100% cotton.

I prefer duck down pillows in general, my husband prefers microfiber, so I got one of each. In the photos above I used the blue pillowcase for down pillow, and the red pillowcase for the microfiber one. When I inflated both pillows I was able to get the same thickness on both of the pillows, they both weigh 5 oz. They both compacted similar well when I rolled them up for packing. They do feel slightly different in a squeeze test. By squeezing each I can tell the difference between down and microfiber as microfiber has a bit more spongy feel to it. The down pillow is very soft, you cannot feel any quills, this pillow is made with top quality duck down.

I received sample pillows from the manufacturer for evaluation and unbiased review. Originally I thought I would use these pillows only when I travel, but I found the ability to adjust the pillow loft for my back problems so useful that I began using them as my "under the knees" pillow every day. I found that being able to change the inflation really helps my back, as some days the back feels better with knees slightly higher and some days with knees slightly lower.

Whether you want more custom comfort when you travel, or you use pillows to adjust leg position when you sleep this pillow can be customized to fit your needs. I recommend it.

By Ali Julia, Amazon product reviewer

Read all reviews at: 

http://www.amazon.com/review/ROTOAUN5QMO9W/ref=cm_srch_res_rtr_alt_3

http://www.amazon.com/review/R3MAVZAJ1JC1HM/ref=cm_srch_res_rtr_alt_2

http://www.amazon.com/review/R30GXN0Q81QDHX/ref=cm_srch_res_rtr_alt_1

Johnny Jet, February 19, 2013

Here's what Johnny Jet, The Travel Insider, said about Pillowpacker® Pillows Premium Inflatable Travel Pillows, February 19, 2013

These travel pillows definitely aren’t the cheapest, but they might very well be the most comfortable. I’m not the type of guy that carries along a pillow when I travel because I don’t have room in my carry on, but I did last week and boy was I happy. The pillows are made by Garry Logue and his wife in Ottawa, Canada.

They make two models of their unique inflatable travel pillows, one is wrapped in microfiber (imported from the USA) and the other is wrapped in duck down (from Québec), so they know the quality and cleanliness of their components. They measure 19X14 inches (48X36 cm); 5 ounces (150 grams) and come in different colors. From now on, I think I may just find room in my bag.

http://www.johnnyjet.com/2013/02/travel-product-of-the-week-pillowpackers/

Los Angeles Times Travel Editor Loves Our Pillow! May 2012

Catharine Hamm, Editor of the Los Angeles Time's Travel Section, tested our inflatable down pillow over several months and says "...those who are spoiled by their pillow at home may fall in love with this 19-by-14-inch downy wonder. Yes, it's down, but it also has an inflatable inner pillow that lets you control the firmness...". Of course we knew this but it is nice to have someone else say this to so many people!  Her article featured our pillow in the LA Times' Christmas supplement for special gift ideas.

Ottawa Citizen Gear to Go, November 13, 2011

Resting your noggin on a balled-up jacket just doesn't cut it for so many reasons. Still, many a grump traveller has emerged from a makeshift sleeping area with an unsightly zipper impression in the middle of his cheek. 

Comfortable, Convenient and Easy - Pillowpacker Pillows

Ottawans Garry Logue and Beth Shepherd had no intention of compromising their cranium's comfort, so they invented the Pillowpacker Pillow, a travel accessory that's as close to the real thing as they could manage without the bulk. Measuring 48 by 36 centimeters, the pillows come in either duck down or microfibre. The crux of both models is an inflatable insert, which can be blown up to the desired firmness for sleeping then deflated for maximum portability. Suddenly, a night in the tent, on the train or in a mangy hostel is much more palatable– at least from the neck up.

Buy them exclusively at www.PillowPackers.com 

Both include a 100-per-cent percale cotton pillowcase.

–Rob Stevenson for the Ottawa Citizen

Chicago Tribune's Ross Werland Praises Comfort-filled pillow, March 23, 2011

Ross Werland, Editor of the Chicago Tribune's Travel Section, wrote a balanced article on our pillow. Ross tested our pillow over several months and says "This is the first inflatable I've tried that is truly comfortable, like a real pillow." Of course, we knew this but it is nice to have someone else say this to so many people!  His article, which so far has appeared in dozens of Travel sections in newspapers across the US and Canada, has produced hundreds of sales for our Pillowpacker pillows.

MetroNews February 18, 2011

Pillow Business Sleeper Hit for Britannia Village Couple, EMC News, Jan 6, 2011

By Phil Ambroziak

Britannia Village resident Garry Logue can rest easy with the knowledge his newly launched home-based business has become a success.

The Pillowpacker pillow, which Logue launched last spring at the Britannia Yacht Club alongside his wife Beth Shepherd, is an inflatable travel pillow ideal for people who insist on bringing their own pillows with them while on vacation, staying at hotels or when they are away from home for any reason.

"My wife and I are retired corporate folks who do a lot of travelling," Logue said.

Britannia Village resident Beth Shepherd demonstrates the comfort of the Pillowpacker pillow, an inflatable travel pillow, she designed and developed alongside her husband, Garry Logue.

"But, we've always had this nasty habit of bringing our own pillows with us. We would have to haul an entire piece of luggage around with us dedicated just to our pillows. Now, with weight restrictions, increased security issues and such, we found this to be a bit of an awkward situation."

Because of these reasons, during a trip to the high Arctic in 2008, Logue and his wife had no choice but to leave their regular pillows at home.

"We had to sleep on the dirtiest little pillows - it was just awful," he said.

"One night, while sharing our feelings about these pillows and how we couldn't bring our own with us this, we were cajoled into doing something about it. When we returned home, we poked around at the idea, but didn't really know where to start."

With a little research and a lot of hard work, however, plans began to take shape and before too long the Pillowpacker pillow was born.

"It's not one of those horseshow things it's a real pillow," he continued. "A prototype was made and, as it turns out, we designed, developed and tested what has turned out to be a premium, inflatable travel pillow."

Designed with a zipper along the side that opens to reveal an inflatable bladder, two Pillowpacker models are available - duck down or microfibre.

Not only is Logue, who refers to himself as the chief pillow officer, confident both versions meet the highest of Canadian standards, but he is also proud of the fact (aside from the actual production of the pillows) the entire business operates from his home.

"We do most of it ourselves the website, marketing material, packaging and shipping," he said.

Buy them exclusively at www.pillowpackers.com 

While it's been less than a year since the pillow has been available to the general public, Logue said word of it's convenience and high quality has already spread.

"So far, our success has been largely due to great word-of-mouth," he said.

"It has met with a lot of positive feedback. One lady told us it was our pillow that allowed her to have her first good sleep ever while on an airplane while another woman in the U.K. has said our pillow allowed her to wake up for the first time without sinus congestion."

This international success has also come as a surprise to Logue because he started out thinking he would be targeting a small market niche.

"It is surprising, but it's a pleasant surprise," he said. "I've found out there are actually many other pillow packers out there, which is good. It would be sad to think my wife and I were the only ones in the world who did that sort of thing. It turns out that we have found that market niche, but we haven't even scratched the tip of the iceberg yet."

In closing, Logue explained making money isn't the primary goal he had in mind when developing the Pillowpacker pillow.

"We're simply looking to provide an extremely, high-quality product," he said. "We know what's in it and we trust the local sewing shop that assemble it for us. This is just something to keep us active."

Toronto Star Gearing Up, December 11, 2010